Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes

Best Ego Electronic Cigarette Starter Kits -Full Reviews of Top Brands for 2017!

This page includes:

This page features brand reviews of the best ego style electronic cigarettes and is designed to help you find the one that suits you best. Although like many people, I started vaping with a 2 piece e-cig, or “cigalike”, at this point the ego type is my favorite style of e-cig and my preferred way to vape.

I do still use a cigalike on occasion as the ego style is a little on the bulky side and there I times when I prefer the discretion of the smaller 2 piece model that actually looks closer to a traditional cigarette, for the most part though, I use my ego. To me the advantages are numerous.

Best Ego Style (Modular) Electronic Cigarette Starter Kits Reviewed

I use a relatively large tank that hold easily enough e-liquid for 2 or 3 days (like the one shown here on the left).

I have a large battery that lasts for almost as long, and I have the ability to ramp up the voltage which increases the vapor production and gives me a better throat hit.

The other thing I enjoy about the ego models is the fact that I can mix my own flavors right in the tank.  I add a little of this or that to a diminishing tank and the flavor is always slightly different.  Also, I can go back and forth between two nicotine strengths and am able to give myself a little more or less depending on the day.  It’s really awesome in that way.

I find I really like to be somewhere between 12 and 18 mg/ml of nicotine.  As a result, using the 2 piece cig-a-like models I am always going back and forth between 2 strengths (one is slightly too weak and the other just a little too strong), while using a modular or ego type, I can actually just mix about half and half and land right around 15-16 mg/ml. I very often mix a menthol flavor into a tobacco flavor and get the best of both worlds.

Best Electronic Cigarette? Top Ego E-Cig Brands Reviewed. V3 Ego Spinner DetailWhen you’re choosing the ego style batteries for your starter kits, you’ll usually see the battery’s capacity indicated, sometimes you’ll have a choice.  The number indicated is always in milliamp hours or mAh.

They usually range from about 400-1300 some go higher, but those are the most common. I usually use 650 or 900, I find they balance nicely between size and length of time between charges.

Whenever you see the word “spinner” or “twist” in the battery’s description, it indicates that it is variable in voltage. They call it spinner or twist because you twist the bottom (as shown to the right) to choose your preferred vaping voltage. They usually range between about 3.3 and 4.8 Volts.

The ego style tanks consist of 2 parts. The most visible of course is the tank itself, they usually range in size between about a 1.6ml capacity all the way up to 5 ml tanks which are huge (the one shown below holds 2.5 ml).

The second component in the ego style tank is the atomizer. The atomizer is what actually heats the e-liquid up to the proper vaporization temperature.

Some tanks have visible wicks like the one above that soak up the e-liquid, while the tank shown below loads from the bottom so the wicks are so short, they are hardly visible. If you look closely, you’ll see just the end of a very short wick under the white rubber piece on the atomizer itself.

Best Ego Style E-Cigs Reviewed -KangerTech Protank II

As I mentioned on a previous page, if you are a beginner, you may want to consider starting with a 2 piece cigalike or even a disposable at first to get feel for your own preferences and then graduate to an ego or even mod style once you know what you like and would like to have a little more control over your own experience.

If however, you already know you are more the “control freak” type, then this may be the right place for you to start.

Most vape shops around only offer this type of e-cig because it’s so much more versatile and less expensive overall than the original 2 piece cigalikes.

The thing that disappoints me most however about most of these new shops is that they usually only stock one or two of the lower end brands.

The name brands, like VaporFi, Halo, V2 Cigs etc. are still only available online direct from the manufacturer. Personally, I prefer it this way (I’ve never been happy with anything I’ve gotten from vape shops except in some cases their specific signature e-liquids).

That is why I have written these pages for newer electronic cigarette users to act primarily as an e-cig reference and buying guide.

For each of the kits listed on this page, they were all judged and scored using the same criteria:

  • How good is the tank, does it leak?
  • How much power does the battery produce and for how long?
  • How long does the battery last between charges?
  • How much vapor is produced?
  • What is the overall experience like?
  • What is the cost compared others in the same category?

Based on all the above criteria I have assigned each one with a rank and a score on each question out of ten. Because only my favorites are listed here, you will notice they are all very close in ranking, but of course a few rise closer to the top.

Enjoy, and please feel free to ask questions or share your experience in the comment section below. So, which ego e-cigs are the best? Let’s find out shall we?

Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Starter Kits Tested and Reviewed -Top Vape Brands Reviewed



VaporFi -Rocket 3 Starter Kit Review

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking Quick Overview

Rank: #1

Vapor Production: 9.8/10

Battery: 9.5/10

Tank System: 9.8/10

Price: $$

Overall: 9.6/10

Learn More About The VaporFi Rocket Ego Style Electronic Cigarette at VaporFi.com!



VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking

VaporFi is a very well known brand in the e-cig world and they continue to impress me with their new additions and continuously upgraded technology.

Formerly known as VaporZone, one thing is for sure; they have quite a knack for staying ahead of the technological curve!

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking They are known for producing solid, reliable hardware and in the last few months with new additions, I have even come to favor them over some of my other, previous go-to brands.

They even recently started offering a fully customizable electronic cigarette! You can choose the battery, tank and atomizer of your preference. There are more than enough options for almost any style, taste and/or budget.

They do offer quite a wide variety of kits as well ranging from beginner to pro, but for now I will be focusing one of their best ego style starter kits.

The new Rocket 3 is a fantastic, ready made kit and I would recommend it to pretty much anyone, experienced vaper or not. It is remarkably easy to use and it does an awesome job, not just in terms of vapor production and flavor, but also the overall sensation which really mimics the feeling produced from smoking remarkably well.

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking I’ve been vaping for a few years now and the VaporFi Rocket 3 is one of the best ego style e-cigs I have ever used. I love the weight of it in my hand, it just feels so much more substantial than others, and more importantly, I love how well and reliably it works. Right from the first puff I was impressed with the vapor production.

The Rocket 3 is quite unique and could easily have been on the mods page because although I would call it an ego style in design, it is more like a mod in that it is a sub-ohm vape-pen.

They offer 2 coils options with the kit. One is a 0.1 ohm nickle coil for temperature control, the other is a regular wattage coil of 0.5 ohms.

With just a few clicks of the firing button, the Rocket 3 allows you to switch between wattage and temperature control mode! The temperature control mode regulates how hot the coil gets which increases flavor and lowers e-liquid consumption.

The vapor produced is greater than most others ego style models because of the lower resistance of the coil and the flavor comes through quite satisfyingly. I still use mainly tobacco based e-liquids and I really get the taste of a cigarette with their American Red Tobacco. Very close to a Marlboro Red, quite amazingly so.

The starter kit itself comes with a supercharged 2500 mAh variable voltage battery which will last most users a full day or more on a single charge. The Rocket 3 tank is also included in the starter kit which has a 3.5 ml capacity, and is a convenient top fill design.

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking

The tank by itself is on par with some of the higher end tanks on the market today. It’s actually quite surprising how good it is for a tank in a starter kit. The lower resistance with the Rocket 3 make quite a big difference in the flavor and overall enjoyment.

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking The other thing I personally like about this vape kit, is how indestructible it is. It’s encased in a thick metal including the tank which allows it to take quite a beating and keep right on ticking.

I’ve had mine in a tool belt getting banged around all day and other than a few chips on the surface, it’s as good as new.

Combined with some of their well known e-liquid, which you can also now customize, the vapor produced is thick, plentiful and very satisfying.

They have dozens of flavors to choose from with all the standard nicotine levels from 0 all the way to 36 mg of nicotine per ml which is actually too much for most people.

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking My favorite VaporFi e-liquid so far is their American Red, but the Chocolate Cherry Tobacco, and the Summer Tea are both quite sweet and tasty.

My favorite ego style kit right now from VaporFi is the Rocket 3, but they do offer some for beginners as low as thirty or forty dollars.

If you’re on a tighter budget or aren’t sure how well you’ll like it or even if you are just looking to try vaping for the first time, those may be better choices.

They also offer a cigalike model is as good as any of the current top brands out there.

One thing I can assure you no matter which kit you choose, you will be impressed with the quality of construction, the attention to detail and the performance each one cranks out.

They even have a new battery out which I’ll be reviewing in the e-cig mod section that allows for up to 100 watts of output!

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking

Even though my focus here has been primarily on the Rocket 3 because it is my favorite ego style VaporFi kit thus far, use the links below to take a look for yourself and choose the one that’s right for you!

VaporFi Rocket 3 Review -Best Ego Style Electronic Cigarettes / Personal Vaporizers to Quit Smoking Top



V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and ReviewedQuick Overview

Rank: #2 

Vapor Production: 9.5/10

Battery: 9/10

Tank System: 9.8/10

Price: $$$

Overall: 9.5/10

V2 Pro Ego Style Personal Vaporizer/Electronic Cigarette Starter Kit Review



V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and ReviewedThe V2 Pro Series 3X is the latest offering in the hugely successful V2 Pro Series. The originator, V2 Cigs, is one of the oldest and most well known e-cig manufacturers in the world.

Their Pro Series has been out for a couple of years now and I thoroughly enjoyed the original Pro Series 3 for quite a while before venturing deeper into sub-ohming and larger box mods.

For the last couple of years, the original Pro Series 3 was actually featured on this page, but when I heard there was an updated version available, capable of sub-ohming, offering a larger battery capacity and used ceramic coils, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and try it out for myself!

Like the original, the Pro Series 3X is a 3 in 1 vaporizer capable not only of vaping e-liquid, but it also is able to vaporize dry herb and wax as well.

V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and ReviewedFor the purpose of this review I’ll be focusing on the e-liquid components but if you are someone who uses wax or dry herb too, you can read the review using dry herb here.

The nice thing about the Series 3 is that the parts are interchangeable between the original and the new 3X. If you happen to have the dry herb or wax components already, you can use them with the 3X too.

The Series 3X features adjustable voltage settings between 1.8 to 3.3 volts with a few clicks of the main power button. You can also choose between 3 different resistances on the atomizer coils.

You can get very nice mouth-to lung draws with the 1.2 or 1.5 ohm coils, or pretty decent direct-draw lung inhales with the 0.9 ohm coil.

V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and Reviewed

The coils all use ceramic as the wicking material instead of the standard cotton which adds a bit of crispness to the flavor and more than doubles the amount of e-liquid that can be vaped through them before they need to be changed. You definitely get more flavor with the ceramic for quite a lot longer that with cotton.

The tank holds a respectable 1.6 ml of e-liquid and is a very convenient top-fill design. The battery capacity has been increased to 750 mAh which, on this device, is capable of giving me a full day of vaping.

Like the original, both the tank/atomizer components as well as the charging cable all just snap together magnetically. The Series 3X also features “pass-through” charging meaning you can use it while it’s charging. With the available car adapter, you can even charge and use it while driving.

V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and Reviewed

V2 includes everything you’ll need right in the box including one of each atomizer resistance, an extra Series 3 tank and the charger.

Pair it with any number or their world renowned e-liquids and you’ll be smiling with flavor satisfaction every time you puff on it.

For a closer look, check out the video below from V2 Cigs taking you through some of the latest features, or use the button to visit V2 Cigs and check it out for yourself directly. Enjoy!

V2 Pro Series 3X Review -Best Ego Style E-Cigs -Found, Tested and Reviewed

Top



Halo -Triton II Starter Kit Review

Quick OverviewTriton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking?

Rank: #3

Vapor Production: 9.7/10

Battery: 9.2/10

Tank System: 9.6/10

Price: $$ 

Overall: 9.4/10

Best Vape to Help Smokers Quit Smoking in 2017 Reviewed: The Halo Triton II Kit Review



Triton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking?If you’re familiar with my blog, you’ll know Halo has always been good to me and I’ve used many of their vaporizers along the way with great enjoyment. Their G6 cigalike kit is what helped me finally quit smoking once and for all and for that, I’ll always be grateful.

Triton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking?I later thoroughly enjoyed the Triton Tank System (as seen on the right) which was featured on this page for well over a year.

I have decided to replace it because Halo has recently come out with a greatly improved version, known simply at the Triton II kit.

Like the original, it’s a very well made kit that performs impressively well and is quite satisfying to use.

The new Triton II kit allows for use as a “sub-ohm” vaporizer, with a 0.75 ohm coil, or “above-ohm” using either the 1.2 ohm vertical or the 1.5 ohm horizontal coils.

The horizontal 1.5 ohm coil is perfect for tasty mouth-to-lung draws like a traditional cigarette, while the 0.75 ohm coil is great for extra large lung inhales loaded with flavor.

Triton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking?I love the versatility of this kit because if you are still smoking and looking to make the switch to vaping, you can start with the 1.2 or 1.5 ohm coils which mimic smoking quite well and then move on if you decide to start going for bigger vapor and flavor with the sub-ohm coils.

Halo includes two 700 mAh Batteries in the starter kit along with 2 Triton II tanks which hold 2mls of e-liquid so you can easily keep two flavors on the go.

They also include 3 of the 0.75 ohm coils, 3 different mouthpieces including one wide-bore and the charging cable and adapter.

Although I have the Triton II kit ranked in the third position, I do consider it to be on par with both the Rocket 3 and the V2 Pro but it is quite a bit less expensive than both. Take a look for yourself!

Triton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking?

Triton II Ego Style Vaporizer Review Best E-Cig to Help Smokers Quit Smoking? Top



Volcano -Inferno Starter Kit Review

Volcano Inferno Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Starter Kit ReviewQuick Overview

Rank: #4

Vapor Production: 9.1/10

Battery: 9/10

Tank System: 8.5/10

Price: $$$

Overall: 8.8/10

Volcano Inferno Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Full Review



Volcano Inferno Ego Style E-Cigarette Starter Kit ReviewedVolcano is another solid brand and they make a couple of great ego e-cigarettes. Whether it be in design, power, durability or flexibility of use, they have you covered in all respects.

The model shown here is The Inferno kit.  It is the most popular Volcano model and you can see why. It’s one of the best ego style e-cigs out there.

The power and vapor production are both outstanding.  This kit comes with 2 batteries, (650 and 900 mAh) one tank and 3 heating coils. It also comes with a 15 ml bottle of e-liquid, everything you see in the image.

One really nice thing about the Inferno battery design is that you can charge it as you’re using it using a regular USB cable.

The power is more than adequate and the vapor production is outstanding. The overall quality is impressive. I have listed it third on this page but would rank it very close to the Halo Triton or the V2 Pro, especially for newer vapers.

It’s ready to go right out  of the box, just screw the coil into the tank, add some e-juice and you’re ready to vape!  It is a fantastic kit, as easy to use as it is a pleasure.

Volcano Inferno Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Volcano offers numerous high quality e-liquids which will keep you busy for a long time.  You can choose between 0,08,16 or 24 mg/ml of nicotine.

The kit I have highlighted is my favorite Volcano kit, but they make 3 unique kits; The Magma, which is a 2 piece model,  The Inferno (shown here) and The Lavatube which is a beast with a 7ml tank and a 1600 mAh battery.  This truly is a “Fine Electronic Cigarette”.  It comes in 8 great colors and is not as expensive as you might think.

Here is a video I found from Volcano about The Inferno. It explains more about the style and the features of this new design.

Volcano Inferno Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Starter Kit Full Review Top 



Crown 7 Gladiator Kit Review

Gladiator by Crown 7 Ego Style E-Cig Starter Kit -Full Review

Rank: #5

Vapor Production: 8/10

Battery: 7/10

Tank System: 8/10

Price: $

Overall: 7.8/10

Gladiator Crown 7 Electronic Cigarette Starter Kit.



Crown 7 Gladiator Ego Style Electronic Cigarette Starter Kit -Full ReviewCrown 7  offers a “bare bones” ego type starter kit for someone looking to try one at a low entry cost that is ready to use out of the package.  

The starter kit comes with the battery which is 650 mAh, the clearomizer (tank), and the USB charger. All you need is some good e-liquid and you’re off!  Crown 7 is best known for it’s disposables which are among the best out there, but I am including them here as well because they make a solid ego style e-cig at a great price.  

I have ranked it low because it is more of a beginner ego style kit but it does vape quite well. If you are going to try a model at this price level, stick to the Crown 7, as the other models around are quite sub-par. I have included it here because I myself have used it and it got me out of a pinch when I was stuck in Minnesota one week-end. I used it the whole week-end and didn’t light up which I’m sure I  would have without.

I feel it deserves a place on this page and if you’re looking at price alone, this one may be for you. Vapor production ranked an 8/10 as you’ll see above and I must say was quite good.

The Gladiator allows you to have the ability to use any e-liquid you choose and even mix your own combinations.  You can also get their two signature flavors, the same that are in their disposables (tobacco and menthol) in liquid form as well.  

Gladiator Ego Style Electronic Cigarette by Crown 7 -Learn More Here!

 Top



In Conclusion

I have listed several of the best options I have found in my exploration thus far. I was a heavy smoker for over 20 years. When I first came across a really good electronic cigarette, my enthusiasm burst forth and I have remained as enthused about them ever since.

Having the ability to satisfy my nicotine cravings in a way that actually felt like smoking and has come to feel even better than smoking was something I never would have believed until I tried it.

I have created this site as a resource for those looking to try electronic cigarettes for the first time, or anyone who is already vaping and is looking to try some high quality products. I have highlighted some excellent brands above that truly make a superior product.

Although this is a review site, I have decided to omit any company, brand or product that I would not use myself or recommend to a good friend. Any product you see featured on this website, I fully endorse. Some may fit more with people on a tighter budget while others may fit a particular lifestyle or personal taste.

All the e-cig reviews on this site are based on my own personal experience with each. You be the judge which is the best electronic cigarette for you, but please, choose an electronic cigarette and enjoy all the pleasure of smoking without ever smoking at all.

Best Electronic Cigarette Starter Kits -Found, Tested and Reviewed -Full Reviews of Top Brands for 2017!

 

Click here to read reviews of some of the best e-liquids on the market

Click here for reviews of the best 2 piece or “cigalike” electronic cigarette starter kits

For more experienced vapers, check out the best vape mods, tanks, batteries and accessories here

 

Or read more about how electronic cigarettes can help with quitting smoking

Read more about the safety of electronic cigarettes here

 

Top 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s